Puari is a longstanding fishing area for Ngāi Tūāhuriri. It was claimed by chief Pita Te Hori for the hapū in 1868 but denied by the Crown, because the land had been allocated to settlers. This site is now owned by Ngāi Tahu and a building named after Te Hori stands here.
This is where Tuahiwi people fished, eeled and gathered other kaimoana until the waterways were blocked and the land confiscated for public works in 1956. Getting land back in Christchurch was a key part of the Treaty claim lodged in 1986.